The Corroboree
chilli

Kava Preparation

I finally got some kava from a headshop here in NZ, it says "KAVA KAVA - The dried root and lower stems of a South Pacific Island shrub"

I've never tried it before, and have a few questions I was hoping some of you plant heads could answer.

First, it says to mix 1 tablespoon with a hot drink, and to make sure to drink the grit, but all preparation methods I've heard of say to strain the plant matter out before drinking? I've heard of instant kava mixes, but by I don't think this is that, seems to be just the ground roots.

Also, because of my tendencies towards toxiphobia I want to just try enough to get a feel for its effects and potency, would 1 tablespoon be a good place to start? Assuming its strong, what effect would that amount have, and assuming its weak, same question?

Thanks, all nfo preciated.

Kava's not that potent in my opinion..start with mixing 3 tablesponns with a litre of warm water and filter thru a cheese cloth and then drink in gulps say 1 midi glass and wait for for the effects..its kinda nice, very relaxing in lower doses and kinda fluffy.

enjoy.

H.

I normally put about half a cup of powder, 2-3 cups of water and a bit of milk in a blender. Leave it on for 1-2 minutes, then strain the liquid a couple of times, squeezing the captured grit to get more of the goodies out.

Apparently the fat in the milk helps absorb more of the kavalactones out, but don't quote me on this. Tastes alright too, then again, I haven't tried it without the milk. It's kinda like a milkshake, one could even add chocolate topping if kava isn't to their tastes.

Generally I'd drink this over a couple of hours, so you could use much less to get a taste of the effects. Couldn't help you with potency though, I've only tried a couple of batches.

Happy kava-ing.

I finally got some kava from a headshop here in NZ, it says "KAVA KAVA - The dried root and lower stems of a South Pacific Island shrub"