The Corroboree
Sola

Trace element rock dust

Many people swear by the trace element rock dust you sprinkle around your plants for slow release nutrients.

We have so many mines operating in Australia it seems we should all be able to buy it by the tonne, if you wanted to?

ATM the only way I know to get it is in piddly little bags at garden centres and hardware stores, if anyone knows of

a way to purchase bulk I would be very interested. I'm in SA but don't mind driving a bit in the ute to pick it up.

There must be a way.

Thanks

Sola

I know a supplier of it, I could ask him next time I see him. Also, just ask at ur hardware store, they can order u in alot more than they stock, ie bulk.

That would be awesome, hopefully somewhere in S.A.

I'll ask at the hardware store but I'm not going to hold my breath.

Most of the time they know it comes from a truck, unless you're lucky and get someone who's been there a while.

Cheers

obviously i'm not an expert but i question the point in using this stuff. concentrate on organics! the minerals are already in your soil/subsoil.

Each soil will differ in it's composition (both structurally and chemically), not all soils will contain the same nutrients/minerals, and of soils that are similar but of different ages you'd get different levels of those minerals, the soils i'm on are of sedimentary origin, are old and fairly nutrient poor, go few 10 k's west and a different younger volcanic soil kicks in with a different composition.

afaik that's one advantage of trading food from bioregions outside of ones own, you get a more complex mineral composition in your foods than say if you just eat off the same patch.

Depends on the definition of organics, but rock dusts that haven't undergone a chemical treatment surely must be considered organic in the broader picture? Just excavated and crushed.