The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
john

Phyllode extraction

I have read that all Acacia's that have DMT in the rootbark have it in phyllodes also. Has anyone actually extracted from Acacia confusa phyllodes please and if so what was the result (%). I do not want to dig if I can pick.

Not sure if this really answers your question but.....

Check out this nexus post. Stem not phyllodes though. I have no experience of extraction though.

https://www.dmt-nexus.me/forum/default.aspx?g=posts&t=27722

And this one says no for phyllodes but yes for stem.

https://wiki.dmt-nexus.me/Acacia_confusa

And then there's this post from here. Maybe not so helpful though unless you check out the PIHKaL bit mentioned and see what it actually says, I sold my copy of it so can't check it myself.

P.S. these came up as 3 of the first 5 links on a Google search :)

Wow - thanks. I never thought I could get such detail on Google. That is enough for me to give it a try.

• Thanks 1

I've heard it's totally fine. You could use something less selective like xylene but you'll end up with a lot of lipids in your final. Which can be cleaned up with shellite. I hear the pros use hot shellite for first pull, get relatively clean xtals, then do more pulls with xylene to catch the rest. Or so I read...

• Like 1

On 9/1/2023 at 6:48 PM, bhuta-kala said:

any advice as to a shellite replacement - I hear diggers is no good?

Diggers brand shellite is a good non polar solvent, the trick is to warm it up as Glaukus said.

You could use xylene and the yield would be larger containing more active alkaloids but this tends to create a much darker spice and a bit more mess.

Edited by shiva
  • Like 1

Be-careful shellite is now (and maybe always has been) 30% n-hexane. Beware of the vapours, n-hexane is quite neurotoxic, ensure you have good ventilation (a mask would be a good idea too) and ensure you get a totally clean evap.  Not to be confused with hexane.

Edited by Trip
  • Like 1