The Corroboree
Paradoxical

Germinating Acacia courtii seeds

I have recently received a few A. courtii seeds and I want to maximise the germination rates (as i don't have many).

I was going to use the boiling water method (pour boiling water over the seeds in a mug, and let sit overnight before planting) that appears to be applied to numerous Acacias species.

But I was wondering if anyone that has had success on germinating courtii, had any tips that were directly relevant to this species that they would be willing to share? i.e smoke water treatment (I have a pack of smoke treatment available if need be).

Cheers in advance for the advice.

P

I'm no expert but I use fine wet and dry sand paper to lightly (very lightly) scarify the seed coat. I then put the seeds in just boiled water and sow when swollen. Usually next day...

Peeps say not to do both scarify and hot water, but doing both works for me so I keep doing it.

I have great success with this method :-)

I fold the sand paper in half and envelope the seed. I then gently roll the seeds on the sand paper with thumb and index finger.

Hope it helps, fresh courtii are easy to get to pop, not sure if it is critical but adding rhizobia may be beneficial.

• Like 1

I did mine (the first batch) the same as you DB and somehow managed to kill the lot of them.

I do all my Acacias like that and have great success with every other species I've ever sown bar one. The others were phlebs.

For the second batch of courtii seed I recieved from Folias I was very wary of using scarification and boiling water at the same time, so I just used hot water. All the seeds swelled up and I planted the same way I do for acuminatas, maidenii and floribunda ect and none of those came up either.

I have a special relationship coutii & phleb so I was very dissapointed to say the least.