The Corroboree
planthelper

secrets of hand shake, hug, hand kissing and social etiquette

I used to work as a trades man, and are appreciative of a good hand shake, which seals a deal, or let's say verbal contract.

a good hand shake has to be firm, and if the other person, clinches harder, than expected, you quickly increase your, in put of "hand shake force" as well, or even, go 10% stronger.

this is a cultural topic, in a sence as, those social etiquettes vary, all over the globe.

Australians, are not realy good hand shakers, and don't shake as often as, many people from Europe.

I like the, "black hand shake", the most, a mixture of, knuckle hitting fist, low 5, received and given, than some sort of palm clap and snapping, and involves as well a normal hand shake... I struggle explaining it... it's a hand shake which, makes you feel, strong and empowered and part of the mob.

in Europe, in an established circle of people and friends, often a man kisses a woman, when introduced, to her in public for the 1st time, believe it or not.

anyway, I try to say, that apart from when eyes meet for the first time, the first hand shake, or hand kiss, or hug, can be, very important.

bring back the hand kiss! :wub:

whats your secret charismatic charm?

Edited by planthelper
  • Like 1

Out here it's the standard that you give a firm handshake and look the other man in the eye.. Took a bit of getting back used to after living in the northern rivers where that practice seemed almost offensive. Guys can over do it with the handsqueeze and the stare down but generally they come away looking like douches and laughed at about it ehind their back. theres a difference between a douche handshake and a handshake and eye contact that indicates respect. however often old boys in authoritiy positions do it and you have to just cop it and stand your ground with your own firm handshake and eye contact. These guys would write you off for life if you didn't lol it's funny really.