The Corroboree
Bread Filter

Loph on Peres Graft Problems

Hey guys.

I bought this Loph graft a few months back to give to a mate and everything was fine until recently he sent me this picture

copyofloph1.jpg

Apparently it is worse now and the Peres has completely folded over so that the Loph is touching the soil. I assume I am going to have try and regraft this? I have no experience whatsoever with grafting and would appreciate any help you guys can provide. I have lots of Cactus that I can use as the scion but no Peres that is ready to go.

The stock has rotted and it has infected the loph also. You need to regraft it but I think you won't have much luck due to the Loph being infected. I would dust those exposed orange areas with a fungicide (sulphor, copper oxy or Mancozeb) cut it off the stock and assess the internal damage to the loph. If you see orange areas inside she is pretty much lost :(

HN

Edited by Hellonasty

The stock has rotted and it has infected the loph also. You need to regraft it but I think you won't have much luck due to the Loph being infected. I would dust those exposed orange areas with a fungicide (sulphor, copper oxy or Mancozeb) cut it off the stock and assess the internal damage to the loph. If you see orange areas inside she is pretty much lost :(

HN

Thanks heaps for the reply.

By cut it off the stock do you mean cut the small section where they both attach or slice a portion off the bottom of the Loph?

slice the loph from the bottom up until you see no more rot and then a little bit just to be safe, if there is enough, then re-graft to another stock, more than like will be a flat graft so you will need to overlap the rings and then weigh it down for two or three days ' until the graft takes '. I use pachanoi and wrap a strip of T-shirt material [stretchy] over the top and hook it onto the spines of the pach.

Edited by dworx