The Corroboree
Teotzlcoatl

New member Markcond needs alittle help!

A new member "Markcond" has been posting question in this thread about his cacti, since he doesn't know the rules about stayin' on topic, I thought I'd help him out and start this thread for him... "Markcond" has no relationship to me other than being a member of the Corroboree.

Here's what "Markcond" said in the other thread-

Hi, I thought this might be the right place to ask about Echinopsis cordobensis (Lance plant). I recently purchased one without really knowing much about it. Is it comparable to pachanoi, peruviansus or macrogonus in terms of chemical content. Is it fast growing. What is it best suited for ie grafting lophs or cultivation for it's own use. It's a really attractive specimen anyhow. I should learn to post a picture. Any feedback appreciated. Thanks

Hey, I'm a newbie so forgive my being a bit blatant/naive. That Burbanks' pic looks pretty much like my plant. I'm just discovering the cacti world and the information and misinformation I have found so far is a bit much to take in. Can you at least give me a straight answer about my plant cordobensis and where it fits i the classification picture? After a bit of googling around I realize I am a minnow in a pond of much older and wiser fish.

So let's all give "Markcond" a warm welcome, and see what we can do to answer his questions!

Welcome to wonderful world of ethnobotanicals!

There are two tried and true psychoactive cacti- Trichocereus species (specifically T. bridgesii, T. pachanoi and T. peruvianus) and Lophophora species (specifically L. williamsii)

You can view those here- Lophophorae, Trichocereus bridgesii, Trichocereus macrogonus/peruvianus, and Trichocereus pachanoi "San Pedro".

There are also alot of cacti which we don't really know the psychoactivty of.... I call these "Lost Peyotes".

Good Luck! If you have any questions feel free to ask! Most members are more than glad to help!

~Teotzlcoatl~

Edited by Teotz'