The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Khatman

The legality of Catha edulis in WA

I believe that around about fifty years ago people brought ‘this pretty tree’ from the eastern states to WA and gave cuttings to friends. In the older suburbs of Perth Khat now grows in the front yards of a few peoples houses. In Perth we now have a growing community of African migrants who have discovered these trees and delight in stripping them bare. I have an agriculture degree and know a potential market when I see it. As a khat user myself I have being raising seedlings and I have been thinking about selling plants to these migrants. I don’t see a major moral problem with this since all the published journal articles suggest the negative health effects are minimal. However after seeing a news paper article a few weeks back about two men being arrested in for harvesting khat I started to wonder about its legality in WA (it turns out it was for trespassing). I have looked in the past and never found anything that said khat was illegal. So I decided I would look into it in more detail.