The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
liquid wolf

peroxide grown mushrooms

Hey everyone I'm just new to sab,

I got a question about mushrooms grown with peroxide. The peroxide is used to kill the bacteria that can mess up a batch. Has anyone heard of this process?

This place www.mycomasters.com sells books on the process they use.

Ok.

Welcome to mushroom cultivation.

I have used peroxide in agar culture and liquid mycelium. It is useful because mold spores cannot germinate on peroxidated media however established mycelium can create enzymes to digest the peroxide...

Peroxidated media will not prevent bacterial blooms.

What amount of the should be used in each stage?

i've also heard that if you sprinkle a spore print in your garden you can get great results without having to worry about bacteria and the rest. Would this work?

Guest electro
Originally posted by liquid wolf:

--> [QB] What amount of the should be used in each stage?

it varies depending on who you talk to :)

peroxide is good, but it is NO substitute for pressure cooking ...

It will kill SOME maybe MOST competng moulds But NOT all. It will not help bacterial infections much though ..... there are some disasterous experiments carried out by ther gnome down the road (who used the nick electro to post results) who had terrible trouble with bacteria using wbs (very prone to infection) and NO pressure cooker or heat of any kind.

BUY A PRESSURE COOKER :) $60 from the markets vurses hundreds of dollars and much time failing.

---> i've also heard that if you sprinkle a spore print in your garden you can get great results without having to worry about bacteria and the rest. Would this work?

probably not :)

ONLY WHERE LEGAL ...

hit www.shroomery.org and hunt for outdoor dung patch teks (buy some straw and cow manuer and all is good) ... you do have to create spawn for this though ...

For spawn or indoor cultivation search for PF TEK or similar or WBS (wild bird seed) TEK 's