The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Happyconcacti

Acacia maidenii troubles, bright red leaves

Hi All,

I have 2 Acacia maidenii in the ground, they're about 1.5 meters tall now.

Trouble is that the leaves are bright red. I thought it was a Phosphorous deficiency so I added a bit to the soil. It hasn't seemed to help much.

Right next to the maidenii I have 2 Acacia acuminata v. narrow phyllode and they're doing great, bright green growth even with the cooler temps recently.

Any suggestions? I don't know what to do.

Thanks,

Maybe posting a picture would help

I think red tips on the leaves can be normal at certain times of the year, but im no expert

• Like 1

normal.

Is it on the new growth or on the older phyllodes ?

Maidenii goes through various stages of pigmentation quite often, it's just a normal part of it's growth cycle. It's most probably just caused by different levels of pigments chlorophyl and anthrocyanins. New phyllodes can start with a red/purple tone before an appreciable amount of chlorophyll builds up and older phyllodes can look that way when the phyllodes have almost reached the end of their useful life and stop producing chlorophyll.

Anthrocycanins are in many ways protective pigments, without them many plants would not survive.

• Like 4

nice Sally, thanks.

Careful when giving our natives phosphorous, they are EXTREMELY efficient at picking it up and often a regular dose is too much for their hairy roots.

• Like 1

i give my mainedii phosphorous every so often, when they show very dark green leaves. they dont mind it at all, in fact, they seem to love it.

Holographic, can i ask what natives in particular you have noticed a problem with? I'm sure there are many.

I havent personally ever used phosphorous on my natives (acacias) just because they really can get by on close to none.

And ive been too afraid I will freak out those sensitive roots!

But with careful application im sure phosphorous could give a nice boost.