The Corroboree

I'm fairly new to cacti, and a bit newish to magickal plants(since winter 2012)

but I'm no stranger to native flora and fauna/ horticulture(since 1984),

bonsai (since 1998),

mycology (since 2004),

and amazonia, mainly fish - discus and catfish - and aquatic plants (since 2003)

I must have struck luck early in my cactus hobby path finding zelly ...

one thing he said to me (or words to the effect) keeps ringing through my head..

"cutting is not conducive to earliest flowering"

..thing is, I wondered by how much does it set them back ? and is there a gain, like perhaps more seed yield or something?

...and also, seeing as cacti have a dormancy period; is that a good or a bad time to cut them?

-like with deciduous trees: it's a good time, since it won't shock them and they wont lose as much moisture as when sap levels are high like say spring,

I know moisture loss isn't an issue with healthy cacti cuts though but seasonal timing is the question.

-maybe spring is the best time for cutting cacti?

It's interesting to see cut cacti flowering like mad , especially on trichoserious site.

Very interesting is the post flower cut phenomenom indeed :)

I couldn't find a thread about it but can delete the topic if necc and replace my question somewhere more appropriate.

As far as I can tell (no expert, jus a freak) the primary factors to influence flowering are an established root system and maturity.