The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
hostilis

Correct time to put the plants outside?

Hello everyone. I am about to put my plants back outside soon. I have already left a few out and they did fine. I was wondering if you all think that this weather is okay for cacti to be out all night.

Here's the forecast for the next 10 days.

post-12824-0-99165200-1396909023_thumb.p

This is my first time putting them outside after being inside all winter. Any opinions are appreciated.

Thanks!

hostilis

post-12824-0-99165200-1396909023_thumb.png

post-12824-0-99165200-1396909023_thumb.png

Should be fine just make sure to acclimate them to more intense light SLOWLY....

• Like 2

Yeah, I already burnt a few. I will put them under a covered south facing porch at first. Then move them out to full sun with some shade cloth over it.

I move mine out when it is a lot cooler than what your forecast shows and I find I can start them in a more intense sun area as the days are still short(er). And they acclimate to the sun's intensity gradually as the days/rays lengthen/strengthen.

I have my Tricho's In a lot more mineral mix than most do as I have high humidity year round and lots of wet weather. And terracotta all the way, so I don't worry about cool weather and rain most of the time

Edited by EthnoGuy85

Thanks for the advice. I guess as the years go by I'll find what works best in my climate.

I have mostly terra cotta pots for mine. I also have a lot of other non tricho plants. The climate I'm in is extremely hot and dry during the summer though so my soil mix for my trichs and even for my mexican cacti has some added water retentive properties just to help them stay well watered.

Weather Report in Celsius (°C) - ( Spring has arrived! )

AprilWeather.jpg

Edited by AZS
  • Like 2