The Corroboree
SaBReT00tH

Fermenting Sceletium/Sinicuichi In Winter

Does anyone know any other methods to ferment sinicuichi and sceletium in winter (e.g. now, when there is no sun left)??

Guest Øskorei

You don't get sun in winter ?

nope! the forecast lately and for the future is clouds with possible rain :( I also thought heat and thus warmth was needed too to kind of melt the sceletium from the nastys to the goodies

in an earlier thread, I read that someone used their hot water cylinder during the night... maybe that will work, dunno, any chance of getting some finished product from you... also, im no expert, but if it is overcast and raining... you may be heating your house......, try contacting someone from herbalistics, they may be able to offer advice

I'm going to revive this thread cause my sceletium is ROTTING cause I don't know how to ferment it in winter!!!! Bringon the suggestions. I need some kougoued!! :)

I vaguely remember reading something about fermenting sceletium in the oven at a low temp. If it requires only heat (not light) I don't see why this wouldn't work.

Darcy's the person to ask here :wink:

Heard of drying post-fermentation in the oven, but don't remember anything about fermenting in there... 7-8 days of ferm. with oven running 24/7... big gas/electricity bills!

Must be some way though :scratchhead: ... wondered about this myself...

Guest Øskorei

On top of the water heater makes sense to me, unless direct sun plays a part. I'll find out soon enough, Ive just prepared a salsa jar stuffed full !

Does water get added to the jar or no ? Ive not read as such, but worth an ask........

And sabre, is your sceletium rotting because it won't ferment properly, or is it rotting whilst still 'growing' ? Cos your plant should really be kicking arse right now as far as health goes - and I don;t know if preparing rotten plant matter for consumption is such a wise thing.