The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
mutant

Panaeolus subbalteatus discussion & ID

Question

I posted this in e-dot, sorry about this... photos will follow....

Well this P.subbalteatus has fallen under a friends attention. I happen to be a mushroom picker, I pick many edibles for table, but I have no experience with IDing Psilocybe & Panaeolus species, except perhaps some very characteristic ones.

So, I would love to hear your knowledge / opinions about this mushroom in an attempt to ID a batch collected and photographed

Rogers says habitat is manured spots , especially gardens and compost heaps... I read various 'neophyte expert' opinions, ranging from 'finding this species in lawns is very rare if not impossible' to 'I personaly find it mostly at new lawns' , so I guess this whole thing is just each ones opinion.

Well, some facts about our specimens, and I am expecting you comments:

Well my friends find were on well cared for lawn. One speciment [or should I say two?] were joined in the base and also at the tops of the caps, resulting in a twinning of the two stems. The spore print of all of them were black.

There was also dung nearby, as there was live stock [we found numerous edible agaricus there], and well, and I saw some Paneolus mushrooms growing on rather old dung ... or mixed old dung and soil or something... they were much bigger [thicker stems and larger caps], they had the characteristic zone across the margin, BUT the cap was very conical, as opposed to the rather round edge of the others.... I didn't have time to take a spore print of the bigger species, so I am not even 100% it was panaeolus, but I thought I should mention.

Does anyone follow me, or I am I just talking to myself??

Tbc.

PS: I have teken it for granted, but please confirm: the zone is an ID sign, but it isn't always there, right? I mean, we can still have a P.subalteatus with no zone across the margin, no?

Edited by mutant