The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Xenomorph

help identifying cactus?

hi there everyone. was wondering if you could help me with identifying some plants that I have. Ths first one is meant to be a T.bridgesii (a number of spiens are missing)..have a look...>

cacti3.jpg

cacti4.jpg

cacti2.jpg

Ok this next one I suspect is a t.pachanoi and looking for confirmation..

pedro1.jpg

Finally this cutting I am positive is a t.pachanoi...

pedro2.jpg

I am relatively new to cacti and any help from the experts in telling me what these 3 are would be greatly appreciated.(ma smith?? I am told you are a cacti master:))

hmmm agreed I tend to think it is not a pachanoi after further inspection...In comparing it to the pachanoi cutting (5th photo) there are nearly twice as many aeroles on the plant (4th photo)...including the 5 ribs (which isnt common ive read?) hmm that is a shame if it isnt a pedro.... anyone else have any thoughts they would like to share?

The first three photos do appear to be of a T. bridgesii type, but not the standard one. It appears more like the SS02 in that it has finer spines than the thick heavy ones of the regular T. bridgesii clone in regular cultivation. Notice that it appears to bear the three radial spine common to T. bridgesii while lacking a clear central spine.

The forth photo does have a T. scopulicola vibe, but its tip isn't quite like T. scopulicola. A better picture might clear things up for me. Five ribs though isn't particulary uncommon for T. pachanoi. Run your fingernail at 90 degrees down the skin and do the same to a confirmed T. pachanoi. T. scopulicola skin is rougher than the very waxy feel of T. pachanoi skin. That should easily clear up the matter. T. scopulicola skin is also not as refective of light as T. pachanoi due to the rougher skin texture.

~Michael~