The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
vegetarium

Anybody have any idea?

Question

So I was strolling down a road I've been down a thousand times and my eyes drift over to see this enormous cactus, easily taller than me, growing in someones front garden. I just had to have a cutting and the little old lady that lived there was more than happy to oblige! I'm still very new to cactus lore, but it seemed to me to bear a vague resemblance to the Trichs I've seen. Does anybody have any clue as to what type of cactus it might be? The ribs are pretty thin and hard, but maybe that's just because of lack of water?

Happy to retake photos from any angle required, if it'll assist in id. Thanks for any help you can provide! Apologies for the weird rotation in the upload - tried fiddling with it, but couldn't get it oriented properly (its oriented the right way on my computer but the upload keeps twisting it)

post-13804-0-80231100-1382498597_thumb.j

post-13804-0-80231100-1382498597_thumb.jpg

post-13804-0-80231100-1382498597_thumb.jpg

8 answers to this question

I'm going to say it's almost certainly Cereus of some sort - look for the fat ribs if you want to find Trichocereus species.

• Like 6

my vote would be cereus too...................though I'm a bit confused about the lack of spines......................either way a beautiful cactus..............dust the cut end with some flower of sulfur and plant in a river sand gritty potting mix.....water rarely .................or set it aside for a month and plant it.................cereus have kiwi like fruit.................

• Like 1

Some strains have good fruit indeed. I have read that some Cereus sp are not self-fertile, meaning you need at least two plants that are not clones to get fruit. I actually read a paper today that mentioned Cereus sp as having anti-cancer properties too, I'll try to post it later.