The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Monk

Trichocereus what?

Question

I purchased this one labeled as "Cereus peruvianus." Haha! I'm no cactus expert, but I know my ass from my elbow and this is no C. peruvianus. I've had it less than a year and it has more than doubled in size. The picture doesn't do the color justice as there is a strong blue-ness to the top half. Anyway, what do you guys think?

Sorry for the angle, I'm on a different computer and couldn't figure out how to rotate. :unsure:

post-3181-1189361732_thumb.jpg

post-3181-1189361939_thumb.jpg

EDIT: Here's the top view:post-3181-1189362410_thumb.jpg

post-3181-1189362410_thumb.jpg

post-3181-1189362410_thumb.jpg

Edited by FeloniousMonk

15 answers to this question

hi Monk, it looks like a Trichocereus Macrogonus! I like mislabeled Cacti! bye Eg

I would also say it looks like a Macrogonus, but the bottom half looks quite different to me.

I think you have to sit on something before you rotate don't you? :lol:

Thanks for the responses guys! You just confirmed my initial suspicions, but as I said, I'm no cactus expert.

but the bottom half looks quite different to me.

Yes, it believe it is a seedling and I think that is just the remainder of its juvenile stage. It was just starting to grow out of it when I purchased the plant, but now it looks very different. It has been growing very fast. From chewing on excised areoles (minus spines of course :lol:) of my various cacti the bitterness values are something like this:

T. macrogonus (this plant)<T. pachanoi (AKA predominate clone USA)<(T. 'Juul's GiantxSSo1)=or<TBM

EDIT:

I think you have to sit on something before you rotate don't you?

Haha! I tried that, but the spines really hurt! :o

Edited by FeloniousMonk

Haha! I tried that, but the spines really hurt! :o

you think that hurts... u should try rooting some cuttings!!! ...... yes, I know guys, ive done that one b4, but its still funny (to me)