The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Aya

New to the Cacti World

Hi everyone, as a few of you know i'm just starting my way on the cacti path and have a few questions in regards to certain things that i haven't yet found answers for. So i thought instead of giving all my questions to Ferret (thanks again), i'd ask who ever is willing to answer instead of putting my unknowingness solely on him.

So one thing that is still on my mind is when you have a seed which is T. Pachanoi x T. Bridgesii. Meaning that the Pachanoi was the mother and the Bridgesii was the pollen donor (father). When this seed starts to germinate and grows will the Cacti produced be a 50/50 split between the two? Or is there a dominance between the mother and father?

Well that's it for now, but i'm sure there will be some more questions to come sooner or later.

Thanks for reading

Aya

I'm fairly new to the genetics of cacti myself, but I think you'll find that they may form a cross breed, with the characteristics of both (or, I should say, the dominant characteristics of both). That is why there are so many cacti that are hard to ID, due to being cross breeds.

You may also get a few that are distinctly similar to the mother or father, without definate looks of both. I dont know what sort of ratio you would expect for the different sorts, I think it'd be a bit of a gamble.

Hope that helps a little - and keep the questions coming - its great to see the answers, we all have different opinions and its always good to hear a few different ideas :)

When this seed starts to germinate and grows will the cacti produced be a 50/50 split between the two? Or is there a dominance between the mother and father?

No, they will grow as a blend of the two.

When you see T. Pachanoi x T. Bridgesii, for example this means that it is a hybrid. Or as a general rule when you see an "X" in the name it will be a hybridised type.

Usually this will be a manual hybridisation by the grower.