The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Guest UV1

Blue Salvia?

Guest UV1

Does anyone know what species the common blue flowering salvia's are?

The have the square shaped stem like the divanorum, leaves have a blueish tinge to them.

Actually I just found out the species is

Salvia farinacea. Anything known about these?

[This message has been edited by UV1 (edited 20 September 2000).]

Guest UV1

Well after no responce, I processed and extracted a sample for vapourising.

It definatly has an effect though how it compares to Salvia D. I have no idea as I've never experienced anything from that(though I've never vapourised an extract).

Anyway I'm going to verify the effects, make sure it wasn't some sort of weird placebo effect. Shall try again tommorow.

While researching Salvia splendens I came across a few sites that considered Salvia farinacea a hybrid of Salvia splendens. But I haven't been able to compare for myself. They could be totally off base.

Guest wira

I've never heard that about farinacea being a splendens hybrid, and I seriously doubt there's any substance to it. Salvia farinacea is recognised as a species on its own, though almost all farinacea you will find in cultivation are cultivars, of which there are many. There's possibly even more different cultivars of Salvia splendens, a very different species. Myself and some others have sampled a number of 'other' Salvia species, and these two are amongst those observed to be active. They are not in the same league as S.d., but are still interesting. Some people, such as Daniel Siebert, don't think splendens is active at all, but there are also plenty of people who swear it works. Some cultivars may be preferable over others, for example some friends found several years ago that the 'Blaze of Fire' S. splendens was the strongest of several splendens varieties tried, all obtained from nurseries in Melbourne.