The Corroboree
Anodyne

What are these extra spines?

Question

I'm fairly new to cactus-growing, and maybe I just haven't been paying attention, but I have never seen these weird little green flesh-hook things before. Has anyone else's cacti got these and what the hell are they?

post-313-0-97650200-1368261118_thumb.jpg

Edited by Anodyne
  • Like 1

25 answers to this question

vestigial leaves

Edited by cacti jihadist
  • Like 3

I think they could be the proto-leaves, as seen in the attached picture.

Yours look a bit different though, and sometimes I wonder if some cacti have in-grown spines. Anyway, just a bit of a filler answer until someone can give better info. :)

gallery_7332_400_109688.jpg

• Like 4

maybe its a male! haha

As spines are modified leaves I would say your cactus just has a genetic thing where it still keep some of its primal leaves... which is pretty cool, you should try and breed it with another cactus with the same traits and see if you can get bigger leaves.

• Like 3

Wow, my cactus has leaves. Plants are awesome!

Thanks for the ID help all. A quick search showed that this is not that uncommon on bridgesii pups, but it'll be interesting to see how this plant develops. There are none on the main stem, and they're only on the lower portions of the pups, not around the growing tips. Anyone know if they disappear as the plant ages?

• Like 1

like the way legless lizerds have vestigial legs :P Oh, did I mention that everything was created, wats that evolution BS

• Like 1

awesome

could we see more photos of the whole cactus ?

is it planted on the ground ? how long has he been there. we can see a wooden base

awesome

could we see more photos of the whole cactus ?

is it planted on the ground ? how long has he been there. we can see a wooden base

tail07.jpg

just reminded me of this

• Like 2