The Corroboree
Boof

Growing HBWR

Hi.  So I've been growing 2 x HBWR vines for about 12 months.  They've been growing like stink.  Big healthy leaves, vines must be 6 or 8 metres long.  In the last couple of weeks, just as its warming up and me thinking flowers might come with Spring, the leaves have started to yellow and die back.  I initially wondered if it was lack of water since I haven't had to water for so long due the amount of rain and soil moisture, wondered if the soil had finally dried enough to require a drink, but nope, don't think that's it.  There are still many healthy leaves, but perhaps only half as many as there should be.  Those leaves that are yellowing are doing so fairly uniformly throughout the whole leaf, starting with the "flesh" of the leaf and leaving green veins, leading to the veins then also yellowing and the leaf (and stem supplying it) eventually withering and dying.  The main stems appear fine.  This isn't part of the plant's cycle is it?  Photos would be helpful to you I guess, but I'm lazy right now, maybe later if my description above isn't helpful enough.  Located a little west of Bris.  

Any thoughts?  Thanks

Mine drops leaves every year and I give it a prune, then it starts again. But I'm in Sydney which is probably the southern limit it will grow in. 

If you're west of Brisbane you might be getting weather cool enough to trigger the same?

• Thanks 1

i'v never grown it, but have seen a few plants.

it's quite normal for them to almost look dead, and than once it had a good shower they jump back to life.

if it rained only a bit than the growth spurt will, just prematurly end.

i would not water the, plant over the dry spells, but if there was ample rain, water on top of the rain.

they are monsters, and have taken over large parts of north queensland, basicly a pest.....

• Thanks 1