The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
at0m

More market finds

Question

I woke up to a couple extra cacti this morning which were purchased for me from the local market.

Another myrtilocacuts?

50b0f.jpg

e4k4m.jpg

I have no idea.

GJ7iv.jpg

f4WQr.jpg

Kept accidentally burying the pups when I was repotting this... It has far nicer roots than the other one.

25 answers to this question

I'm no cacti expert and might be way way off here

But Number 2 looks like an echinopsis of some sort to me

Hopefully someone more versed on the subject will agree haha

I really have no idea I have very limited I'd skills when it comes to cacti

Wat does everyone else think???

Where's EG..... :)

If it is, $3 is a steal! :o

• Like 1

Wow. Number 1 is cool.

Looks like some type of myrtilo to me. What kind though I have no idea. The flowers are cool.

Second one is maybe Echinopsis eyriesii or hybrid? first one is Myrtilocactus are they flower buds?

edit could be E eyreiesii x E seminudus (or similar) you see them getting around a bit up here.

Edited by Stillman

They seem to be, yeah.

Wow so I was right with echinopsis YAY for me :) hahaha

I must be getting better at this :)

E. subdenudata x E. eyriesii perhaps?

• Like 1

thats the one I recon, wait for the flower, It should be a big white one. But there are some really cool hybrids out there that have awesome red flowers etc. Massive for the size of the cacti. I really like the Echinopsis hybrids. If you like big bright flowers Paramount hybrids are the way to go.

yeah Myrtillocactus and Echinopsis. Never saw a Myrtillocactus of that size putting out buds so thats actually a good sign. Would be great if you could post some more pics later on when the flowers developes. Little bit too early to tell what species it is so maybe post another pic when its bigger.