The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Francois le Danque

Noob mushroom guide...

Well seems i'm a mycology noob (and there are probably several like me), i think we should start a guide on where to find active species of fungi in Australia.

It should be listed: Species, location, images (and/or other info., how to identify, poisonous lookalikes etc.).

i think this would be a valuable resource. not just for me of course.

anyway just a thought. anyone else think this is a good idea?

edit: i know there are probably other ways that this could be done, but i would appreciate input from you guys, who probably know best :wink:.

Edited by frank

i dont think so - but it might be an idea. Dutchie from MMA was going to do one, and i sorta tried on the bluemeanie site - but i wanted to do further hunts for rarer species before i made something - if anyone else feels like organising it that would be c00l

I meant like a simple one just here on the forums. for example:

"i found a group of psilocybe azurescens in Inverloch, Victoria" then a picture of the specimen and an annotated map.

it's just good to know what's in your area, you know?

attached is example of map and picture.

location.bmp

location.bmp

location.bmp

I think it's a potentially dangerous idea.

To my thinking, mycology should be like fishing. Good spots are kept quiet by the few that know of them and use them to collect specimens.

If you're a newbie (like myself), research and getting out there in the wilds is your primary way of accessing wild specimens. Alternatively, you may get to know someone that is willing to share their knowledge once a suitable basis of trust is established (just like fisherman).