The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
kadakuda

Acacia confusa pics inside

Question

I am pretty sure i got these pinned down right, but a second opinion always helps :)

Acacia.jpg

Acacia1-2.jpg

Acacia3-1.jpg

Acacia2-2.jpg

Acacia4.jpg

Acacia5.jpg

Acacia6.jpg

Acacia7.jpg

10 answers to this question

Nice...thanks for sharing that, they are some damn fine pictures too.

She's a nice plant, typical acacia looking, would easily fold into the local fray in OZ one would suspect.

It looks like it but i'm an Acacia noob some i can't identify for sure.

I went collecting some seeds today, Acacia confusa is widely used as a landscaping tree here in Okinawa and i have a lot peacefuly growing in my neighborood.

It is definately a very handsome tree ! I wish i had a camera, i'll try to borrow one to take some pictures later.

It felt so good just stay under it, gazing at the beautiful pattern of the foilage...

The tree i gathered seeds from is properly labelled (ソウシジュ=Acacia confusa in Okinawan language) so i am 100% i have the real thing. It was healthy, flowering and producing lots of pods, there are a lot more that will mature later.

Now i have to study how to germinate/grow acacias...this will be my first try with them.

I am wondering if there were some traditional use of this tree in Okinawa, the local "religion" is shamanism (usualy leaded by women, by the way wich is extremely rare worldwide). Since this acacia is active in tea form without maoi and extremely strong, it would be weird that it stayed unoticed all this time...

hey man, glad you chimed in. your pm re sparked my interest in teh fabacae ;) but i am nto great at iding them either, though i am fairly positive this is correct.