The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
TommyChesnutt

The Pollinators

Hey guys,

I feel there is a lot of pollen coming from different cultivars lately - I also feel there's an opportunity here to collaborate a bit more on paving a way for future hybrids - maybe in a bit more of an 'atmospheric' way.

So, for example - I'm proposing we make an open thread, where people post offers of pollen - also for education on taking pollen, storing pollen, pollen transport and applications. So basically, a thread for those who just want to contribute, and work together with, the community (like myself).

Maybe we could set some rulings? i.e., pollen providers are due approx 20% of seeds forthcoming. Does this sound fair?

Also, this would not be consecutive trading - anyone can claim, from any post offering, as long as offers are still available.

I'm actually a complete amateur to cacti pollination myself, but if this seems like a valid idea to you guys, i'd love to get the ball rolling. So, to give an example of layout, i'll propose my items first; (photos were taken three weeks ago - buds are confirmed developing)

I will have three offers of Icaros Pollen available: EDIT - TWO OFFERS REMAINING.

post-6692-0-17686400-1446285852_thumb.jp

I will also have three offers of Scopulicolus x Psycho0 pollen available: EDIT - ONE OFFER REMAINING.

post-6692-0-01359300-1446286188_thumb.jp

For those interested, please PM me with your address - i pay postage pollen your way, you pay postage with seeds harvest (20%?) my way.

Assuming this takes off, there needs to be an understanding of contribution, before profit - the purpose of this thread is for community benefit.

Additionally, post #3 in this thread contains tips on collecting and storing pollen - Just to make it easy for those amateurs who may not know where to start ;)