The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
Ed Dunkel

Luminous fungi

What ever happened to the glowing fungus perti dish culture. Was it you Rev or Earthalchemist or someone else...

E D

Rev..... Reeeevvvvv...... REEEEVVVVVVV!

I want some too wink.gif

Guest saucer-like

We get those little glowing mushies around here alot. I think theres a few types in Aust' but these ones are the type that look like a proper regular mushroom. very cute and very bright they glow hard all night long and the biggest I've seen would be a little smaller than a 50c coin. They only grow out of rotting old logs on the rainforest floor and I've put some of the smaller logs in my terrarium but never had any further fungal growth. I could have a go at making a print if anyone wants one but I've never done it before and would need advice.

I was also wondering how reliable it is to get prints of OTHER SPECIAL mushrooms growing wild since the proceedures seem to insist on being sterile but a wild mushroom wouldnt be sterile anymore would it?

Get some paper and put it in an oven at 120ºC or a little higher (make sure the paper doesn't brown and degrade).

Get a sterilised glass (washed and cleaned with isopropanol, bleach, peroxide etc....) and place it over the paper that has only recently been taken out of the oven.

Now place the fresh mushroom cap with the stem removed with a sterile knife (use a sterile pin placed in the cap to move it around with) on the paper and put the glass over the cap and paper. Leave this for a day or so and remove the cap and glass and fold the paper in half. Cut all the remaining paper away with a clean pair of scissors and place the folded paper with spore print in a new ziplock baggie and Bob's your Marley.

Otherwise read a mushroom cultivation manual found at http://www.shroomery.org/ or any other site.

Good luck

hi, yes i saw those mushies, maybees

fly eaten one...protected allways by

dense forest wait a while and close to