The Corroboree
Bread Filter

When to harvest my habaneros

Hi Guys.

Not sure if this the right place for this but I was wondering if someone could please give me some help on when to harvest my yellow habaneros?

habaneros.jpg

Will they fatten up anymore or should I just pick them now? They have only just turned yellow in the past 2 days. They are yellow, they just came out orange in the photo.

I forgot to add something for scale but that is my index and middle fingers in the shot.

They look pretty nice to me, though I'd probably wait 1-2 days more to see if you get any further colour change.

Looking pretty good there.

^^Thanks mate. This is my first attempt at growing them. I don't know what I am do with them when they are done though, they're too hot for me.

pick them all and send them to me. i like.

pick them all and send them to me. i like.

If you want them you can have them, I'd be glad to give something back to this community.

I'll keep a few for fun though!

Hey I would love some of them or even just the seeds!! If you have any spare.. :wink: :wink:

A few people have already claimed all my habaneros by PM. If I had more I'd give them away guys but I only have the one little plant. Thanks for the interest.

dworx, how do I get them to seed? I know nothing about growing chillis.

seeds are inside the chilli dude :lol:

just save dw some when you use the chilli in your cooking

Edited by Quilliam

seeds are inside the chilli dude :lol:

just save dw some when you use the chilli in your cooking

Wicked thanks for that. I was already planning on sending him some habbies, now he can have both!

but generaly, there is no need to harvest chillies once they have reached maturety,

as most varieties are quite happy, to keep the fruits on the plant.

even if you forget to pick the fruits, they will just dry up on the plant and often still can be used for eating.