The Corroboree
Charlie01

How frost resistant are trich's?

Hello all, This is my first entry into the corroboree, although i have been browsing away on here for a few years now. I just wanted to-

1. ask how frost resistant Trichocereus species are (although I'm sure it varies for each genus). As i live a little inland from the coast and we have the occasional small frost. Last year i was able to have them under cover and this year i no longer have that option.

2. I just wanted to show off my small but beautiful cactus collection. There is some T.Scopulicolis T.Pachinoi, T.peruvianus, T. bridgesii oh and T.Bridghesii-psycho among others. Please enjoy.

Thanks you all... Charlie.

post-6998-126309242863_thumb.jpg

Nice collection Charlie!

There as tough as nails mate,mine have been from the highlands to the south west slopes,turned yellow,fallen over and near dried up with no potting mix!

Re-potted,peed on and good as gold :wink:

Yep, hardy as. I put most of my potted ones near the house under a balcony last winter, but now realise I didn't have too. I've now put some in the ground and will leave the rest outside next winter.

My only concern now is ensuring they don't get too much rain/water over winter. Fortunately(?) we don't get much rain here.

They look nice and healthy mate, I like the marbles! :)

*snap on the question about temp's.. I wrote something about that in a different thread this morning lol :) Your collection looks really happy and healthy and I love the marble idea too! I definately going to do that! The only problem is the kids will pinch them!