The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
mutant

Grafting Tricho seedlings on Pere

Well, I am quite new to cacti and grafting...

I would like to discuss strategics about grafting on pere , especially not in ideal conditions. Thing is wetter days are coming, still automn here is calm, we hardly if any get frost even in the winter anymore. 2 winters ago the brugmansias in the neighbourhood were flowering from september to april constantly !!

Well I have some protected outside / semioutside spots . The spot-on matter , is I guess , pere needs... What's the minimum temperature it can hold so that the scion isn't harmed ? Do pere grafts do fine inside, with some medium light? [so you have actual growth on scion] I have put one pere in semi shade, free root, to cause etiolation , I read this in teo's wonderful guide [ http://www.shaman-australis.com/forum/inde...eskiopsis+graft ] that etiolated plants are easiest to hande and with no spikes.

Well, the scions, they're not lopho, even though I got a number of spare pups... I have some 3-month old Tricho seedlings, wenderm, bridges, terscheckii and 2 peruv . I read it's preferable for the scion , and since I got some to , kind of , spare, especially terschekii and wernderm, I got only 6 bridge and 2 peru, and 3 others less than month pedros, for which I am more worried, as they are likely less hardy with the upcoming wet season of automn. Do you think I could also graft so young? And if yes, do you always use humidity tents for so small scions?

my first on lopho on pere seems to have taken, while another , with a 0,5cm pedro pup is still at stake.

it's interesting you say smaller scions are suited best for pere graft... why is that? can you comment on the scion positioning?

My pere stock is freshly rooted, no more than 1,5 month, but took well and quickly... they were in full sun before my initial grafts. My stock looks more or less like these

dscn3441vn0.th.jpg

And here are the previous 2 grafts

dscn3402gc9.th.jpg