The Corroboree
Sign in to follow this  
fringle

newcastle, nsw find (larges images)

Question

hi,

there has been a lot of rain in newcastle the last few days so i thought id see if i could find anything interesting in my local area. these are pics of some mushrooms im hopeing, but doubting, are active species. i will put some pics up of some other weird stuff(fungi) i found in another post.

i am new to the mushroom world, my only guess is the mushrooms from area2 are old subs., though im probably way off.

none of these stained blue, which is not a good sign i read.

Will have spore prints of the mushrooms from areas 3 and 4 tomoro.

cheers for any help.

AREA2:

found on eucalyptus debris

caps 2-4cm

IMGP3139.jpg

IMGP3141.jpg

IMGP3142.jpg

AREA3:

found on a mixture of mulch and eucalyptus debris

hollow stems, 2-4mm thick/3-5cm long

gills and stem are light brown in colour

caps 2-5cm

IMGP3192.jpg

IMGP3194.jpg

AREA4:

found on eucalyptus debris

stems are hollow, 5-10mm thick/ 5-10cm long

caps 5-12cm

IMGP3200.jpg

IMGP3201.jpg

IMGP3203.jpg

9 answers to this question

Welcome champ! Certainly dont look like subs - the fringes of these caps seem very unusual. Sorry, but I cant help on an ID other than that - perhaps try using the key at www.mushroomexpert.com - I have found that suprisingly accurate and handy! :)

Nice finds anyway!

looks like cyans to me, but what would i know i just eat them! :shroomer:

Hi,